Monday, November 19, 2007

Rock & Roll del Ohio

The Akron, Ohio record label Audio Eagle (launched by Pat Carney of The Black Keys) has released a new compilation of songs from bands all across Ohio. The compilation was released via select Ohio record stores on November 1, and a national release through Nail Distribution will follow on January 22. The album packs a whopping 21 songs, featuring a Black Keys track I hadn't heard yet, a good one from Six Parts Seven (who I've mentioned), and a whole bunch of rock'n stuff that I had never even heard of before. If you've ever thought to yourself, "hmm...I wonder if there is any kickass music coming out of Ohio these days...", this compilation is probably the best way to find out.
  • Take some tracks for a spin:

Audio Eagle Records Presents: A Compilation of Bands From Ohio:

  1. Doug Gillard - For What I’ve Done (Cleveland)
  2. Goodbye Ohio - Gabrial (Akron)
  3. Coffinberry - Earthworms In the Sun (Cleveland)
  4. Machine Go Boom - Gentleman’s Reply (Cleveland)
  5. The Strange Division - New Way of Thinking (Akron)
  6. JJ Magazine - Dinner (Cleveland)
  7. Beaten Awake - It’s a Bubble Bath of Sharks!!! (Kent)
  8. Clouds Forming Crowns - Let It Take Hold (Cleveland)
  9. Buffalo Killers - The Path Before Me (Cincinnati)
  10. The Black Keys - Nobody But You (Akron)
  11. Hell’s Information - Song Six (Akron)
  12. Deathly Fighter - New Variations on Themes (Columbus)
  13. Six Parts Seven - Stolen Moments (Kent)
  14. Brainbow - Secret Histories (Columbus)
  15. Southest Engine - We Have You Surrounded (Athens)
  16. The Same Things - Red Carpet (Akron)
  17. Goodmorning Valentine - City Lights (Akron)
  18. Heartless Bastards - All This Time (Cincinnati)
  19. Houseguest - King of Crystal Skies (Akron)
  20. Celebrity Pilots - Let the Shade Shine In (Cleveland)
  21. Gil Mantera’s Party Dream - Chalklit Pyhe II (Youngstown)
You can pick up the record in various independent record stores or directly from the label.