Thursday, February 19, 2009

Strange Boys..And Girls Club

Austin's Strange Boys will release their highly anticipated debut album, The Strange Boys..And Girls Club, next month on the garage-punk institution In The Red Records. The street date for the album is March 24, but before that they'll rock the Psych Fest and once again be an official SXSW showcasing artist. I can't wait to get my hands on this record. I've been digging the Strange Boys for a while, but until recently I only had a handful of tracks to digest.

I'll let the press release say the rest:
"The Strange Boys evoke a wild-eyed, porcelain-skinned innocence that is capable of summoning the wayward spirit of Brian Jones. The band's proper debut album is seeing the light of day and In The Red is proud to announce the arrival of The Strange Boys...And Girls Club. A 16 track beast that is easy to imagine being blasted out of any stereo system between The Psychedelic Sounds of the 13th Floor Elevators and Wire's Pink Flag.

The Strange Boys were the main support for Roky Erickson and the Explosives at the Chaos in Tejas festival, have played SXSW, ACL Fest, Fuck Yeah Fest, Music Fest Northwest, Bamalama, and shared bills with Daniel Johnston, Black Lips, Reigning Sound, King Khan and BBQ, Jay Reatard, No Age, Black Angels, Fucked Up, and Crystal Antlers."
The Strange Boys..And Girls Club:
  1. Woe Is You And Me
  2. They're Building The Death Camps
  3. Should Have Shot Paul
  4. Mlks
  5. This Girl Taught Me A Dance
  6. For Lack of a Better Face
  7. Heard You Wanna Beat Me Up
  8. No Way For a Slave To Behave
  9. Poem Party
  10. To Turn a Tune or Two
  11. Most Things
  12. A Man You've Never Known
  13. Then
  14. Who Needs Who More
  15. Probation Blues
  16. Death and All The Rest

-Photo thanks Countessian


Anonymous said...

Loving the stuff I've heard, can't wait for the album, hope they tour the UK soon x