Monday, March 08, 2010

Ear to the Ground: Austin

To coincide with SXSW 2010, LimeWire Store has released Ear to the Ground: Austin. Curated by Austinist, this free 20-track sampler showcases a plethora of Austin, TX's hottest indie acts, including Bear Claw, Brazos, Leatherbag, Wild America, and TV Torso.

"We were so glad to be asked to curate an Ear to the Ground sampler for LimeWire Store," said Paige Maguire, Austinist's Music Editor. "Austin's music scene is dense and epic, and we think our mix represents some of the most exciting up-and-coming bands in the city. For those who have been here all along, or those just diving into our community, this sampler will be an excellent introduction to the incredible talent we have here in the ATX."

Ear to the Ground: Austin is available for download here. If you show up to the Austinist day party "Gonna Gonna Get Down V" you'll leave with a thumb drive loaded with the compilation. They've got a killer lineup that includes White Denim, Besnard Lakes, Washed Out, Royal Bangs, Toro y Moi, Phantogram, Warpaint, and more.
Tracklisting for Ear to the Ground: Austin

1. Corto Maltese - "The Heat Death Of The Universe"
2. Bear Claw - "Warm Winter/Cold Fall"
3. The Steps - "Blond Smoke"
4. Wild Harem - "Blue Voodoo"
5. My Milky Way Arms - "Helicopter"
6. YellowFever - "Culver City"
7. The Gary - "(Eyes In The) Tap Room"
8. Leatherbag - "Lines"
9. The Distant Seconds - "Between The Brackets"
10. TV Torso - "The Black Mask"
11. Wild America - "Mountain"
12. Follow That Bird! - "Where They Rest"
13. Lost Controls - "Contribute"
14. Beautiful Supermachines - "Oakland 2008"
15. Dikes of Holland - "Into the Ditches"
16. Sunset - "Sunshine Hair"
17. The Happen-Ins - "Be Yer Fool"
18. The Laughing - "Runner"
19. Brazos - "We Understand Each Other"
20. Burywood - "Things Which Give Us Pause"