Monday, July 19, 2010

Dead Confederate - Sugar

I am excited to hear that the fantastic Athens five-piece Dead Confederate will release their sophomord, Sugar, on August 24th via TAO Recordings/Old Flame Records. The band's debut album Wrecking Ball ranked very high on my favorites of 2008, so it goes without saying that I have been highly anticipating the follow up.

Recorded by John Agnello (Hold Steady, Sonic Youth, Dinosaur Jr.) this album explores new styles beyond the grungy psychedelia of the first record. The start to this progression was shaped by tours with legends Dinosaur Jr. and Meat Puppets, and gave DC an increased appreciation for the early underground bands of the 80s and 90s that laid the foundation on which their sound is built. Sugar features a special guest appearance by J. Mascis on the single "Giving It All Away."
  1. In The Dark
  2. Run From The Gun (w/ Ben Wigler)
  3. Father Figure
  4. Quiet Kid
  5. By Design
  6. Mob Scene
  7. Semi-Thought
  8. Giving It All Away (w/ J. Mascis)
  9. Sugar
  10. Shocked To Realize
Dead Confederate will return to Austin on August 28 to perform at KUT's Red River on the Rocks Festival at The Mohawk. 23 Bands and 11 DJ's will be holding it down on both the outside stage and the inside stages from 3pm till 2am. Fellow kick-ass Athens rockers Futurebirds will also perform, along with Hacienda, Ume, Fresh Millions, ZEALE and a bunch more. Details here.