Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Halcyon Digest

Deerhunter will return with their fourth LP, Halcyon Digest, on September 28 via 4AD. If it comes anywhere near the level of awesomeness they achieved with Microcastle, the album will undoubtedly find its way into my favorites of the year. If not, so be it. I can listen to and enjoy just about anything Bradford Cox touches. Word has it that Deerhunter worked on the recording with Ben Allen, the guy who engineered and mixed Animal Collective's Merriweather Post Pavilion.

About the title, frontman Bradford Cox stated "The album's title is a reference to a collection of fond memories and even invented ones, like my friendship with Ricky Wilson or the fact that I live in an abandoned victorian autoharp factory. The way that we write and rewrite and edit our memories to be a digest version of what we want to remember, and how that's kind of sad."

Earlier today Deerhunter offered up a taste of the new stuff. If you go to this website and enter the password "tapereel", you'll find hidden links that will allow you to download the new single "Revival", along with the non-album B-side "Primitive 3D" and a few unused demos. You can even download the artwork and cut out your own CD covers and labels.
Halcyon Digest:

  1. Earthquake
  2. Don't Cry
  3. Revival
  4. Sailing
  5. Memory Boy
  6. Desire Lines
  7. Basement Scene
  8. Helicopter
  9. Fountain Stairs
  10. Coronado
  11. He Would Have Laughed


Matt said...

Thank you CC, you're always on point with the newest and best. I cannot wait for a new Bradford Cox effort.

Sir Indie said...

Appreciate the introduction to DeerHunter! I think I'd have to hear more of their other songs to be able to grasp their style..

Perhaps I'll be able to see them perform one day soon and help you boost their brand! =)


Mr. Curiosity said...

Glad you're digging it!