Thursday, March 31, 2011

Austin Psych Fest 4

The fourth annual Austin Psych Fest is taking place at Seaholm Power Plant this year, with over 50 bands coming in from all over the world. The 3-day festival will feature performances from the likes of Roky Erickson, Spectrum, The Black Angels, Omar Rodriguez Lopez, Black Moth Super Rainbow, Prefuse 73, Atlas Sound, A Place To Bury Strangers, Crystal Stilts, The Night Beats and many more.

Dedicated to the preservation of Austin as a birthing ground for psychedelic music, Austin Psych Fest 4 honors the past while also magnifying the modern vanguard of mind-expanding music. Presented by The Reverberation Appreciation Society and The Black Angels, the festival will take place April 29 – May 1, 2011 and will be one of last concerts to happen at the iconic Seaholm Power Plant. Day tickets are on sale RIGHT NOW for $40 per day, and for one day only weekend passes are back to the Early Bird price of $85. Click over to to get yours at this special discount while they last!

Do512 interviewed The Reverberation Appreciation Society, short one member - Oswald James, who produces a DVD of Austin Psych Fest every year through Alta Real Pictures. Filmed and edited by Austin Music Weekly, this short clip provides some background on the history of the festival and their plans for Austin Psych Fest 4:

The full festival schedule, set times, and dates are available on, with a few more SPECIAL GUESTS to be announced. The full lineup includes:

Roky Erickson • Spectrum • The Black Angels • Omar Rodriguez Lopez Group • Black Moth Super Rainbow • Prefuse 73 • Atlas Sound • A Place To Bury Strangers • Crystal Stilts • Crocodiles • Tobacco   Fresh and Onlys • Sleepy Sun • The Growlers • Indian Jewelry • Black Ryder • Beach Fossils • This Will Destroy You • Cold Sun • The Soft Moon • Radio Moscow • No Joy • Dirty Beaches • The Night Beats  • White Hills • Pontiak • Black Hollies • Beaches • The Quarter After • Lumerians • Woodsman • Young Prisms • ZAZA • Lower Heaven • Shapes Have Fangs  • Christian Bland • Bass Drum of Death • The Meek •  Blue Angel Lounge • The Cult of Dom Keller • Cloudland Canyon • Zechs Marquis • ST37 • Vacant Lots • The Diamond Center • Rishi Dhir • Pete International Airport • Shine Brothers • Daughters of the Sun • Weird Owl • Wall of Death • Ghost Box Orchestra • The Sky Drops • Tjutjuna • Chris Catalena • Holy Wave • Hellfire Social